A Brighter Tomorrow

According to a 2017 national survey, one in five Americans has a mental illness. Whether it's you or someone you know, it impacts us all, no matter your age, gender, or race. It can be difficult to talk about, leaving many mid-Missourians feeling alone in the dark. That's why we're shining a light on mental health. You are not alone. KOMU 8 Cares... A Brighter Tomorrow.

A Brighter Tomorrow

(CNN) -- Sleep problems in early childhood may be linked to the development of certain mental health disorders in adolescence,... More >>
8 hours ago Thursday, July 02 2020 Jul 2, 2020 Thursday, July 02, 2020 9:26:54 AM CDT July 02, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Visaysha Harris had big plans when the coronavirus pandemic hit the United States. Her college graduation and a... More >>
2 days ago Tuesday, June 30 2020 Jun 30, 2020 Tuesday, June 30, 2020 11:17:44 AM CDT June 30, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- If you're reserved and anxious or depressed, you might want to call your mom and ask her what... More >>
6 days ago Friday, June 26 2020 Jun 26, 2020 Friday, June 26, 2020 10:24:21 AM CDT June 26, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Cyberbullying is linked to a variety of post-traumatic stress disorder symptoms, not only in victims but cyberbullies as... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, June 24 2020 Jun 24, 2020 Wednesday, June 24, 2020 3:55:03 PM CDT June 24, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- The Federal Communications Commission will formally designate next month a new three-digit number to reach the National Suicide... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, June 23 2020 Jun 23, 2020 Tuesday, June 23, 2020 12:19:43 PM CDT June 23, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- "If I'm not (insert job title here), then who am I?" This is the type of question... More >>
1 week ago Monday, June 22 2020 Jun 22, 2020 Monday, June 22, 2020 12:36:53 PM CDT June 22, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
President Trump announced a new task force led by Second Lady Karen Pence to prevent veteran suicide on Wednesday. ... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, June 18 2020 Jun 18, 2020 Thursday, June 18, 2020 11:08:56 AM CDT June 18, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Are you a pessimist by nature, a "glass half empty" sort of person? That's not good for your... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, June 17 2020 Jun 17, 2020 Wednesday, June 17, 2020 12:49:50 PM CDT June 17, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Parents know the drill: Put on your own oxygen mask before helping your children put on theirs. ... More >>
2 weeks ago Saturday, June 13 2020 Jun 13, 2020 Saturday, June 13, 2020 12:07:13 PM CDT June 13, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Are you looking for a mental and physical boost during the pandemic? Try volunteering. Adults over 50... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, June 11 2020 Jun 11, 2020 Thursday, June 11, 2020 1:24:22 PM CDT June 11, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
Clinton, IA ( WQAD ) -- Social isolation may be designed to keep us safe and healthy, but... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, June 10 2020 Jun 10, 2020 Wednesday, June 10, 2020 11:05:16 AM CDT June 10, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
Mental health therapists have been helping a lot of people through this pandemic, but what about their mental health? ... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, June 09 2020 Jun 9, 2020 Tuesday, June 09, 2020 11:29:40 AM CDT June 09, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 87°
6pm 87°
7pm 86°
8pm 84°
9pm 80°

Mental Health Resources

Crisis Hotlines

  • Mid-Missouri Crisis Line
  • 1-888-761-4357
  • 1-573-445-5035
  • Suicide Prevention Hotline
  • 1-800-273-8255
  • Mental Health Crisis Hotline
  • 1-800-395-2132
  • Vet2Vet: Veteran's Crisis Hotline
  • 1-877-VET2VET (838-2838)
  • United Way 211
  • Cell Phones: 211
  • 1-800-472-4626

Counseling and Treatment in Mid-Missouri

Local Resources and Support Organizations